rules Nanuuk! Nanuuk!-reviews
Nanuuk! Forum
text: the inuit - hunter of the arctic
arctic links
deutscher Text zu Nanuuk!


all questions refer to the old version
( bad rules translation )

- back to faq (main) -

*Just to make sure of one last point*

- Ken Hill interviewed Günter Cornett by email -
(converting animals into equipment - end of game
2/3-player board - pick up a second inuk)



Ken Hill:
I finally got a chance to try Nanuuk today. The rules translation is a bit funky and I've got some questions. (I found the updated English rules on Guenter's site which has helped.)

Günter Cornett:
Sorry, my english is always funky.
The english rules were written before the german rules because I showed the game to an inuit woman. Changings were made in german rules and later translated into english.

Ken Hill:
1. When you "exchange" an animal for equipment do you physically "trade" the animal for the equipment? In other words, do I give up my seal (and the 2 points) to get a kayak or do I get the kayak because I have a seal when I go to the igloo?

Günter Cornett:
The winner is the best hunter (not the *richest* one). So you count how much animals are hunted during the game. A seal which is changed into a kayak scores the same two points as a seal which isn't changed.
Please have a look at the player sheet. At the left side there are the animals in the *pocket* of the hunter. At the right side there are the animals in his *kitchen*.
In his *pocket* there is only space for one animal of each (if you ever carried two whales in your pocket you know why ;-) ). So he has to bring the animals at home before hunting more animals. The inuit hunt seals for meal and for making a kayak. That's the best use.

Ken Hill:
2. When does the game _really_ end? Today, the final animal was unreachable except by kayak. Since no one wanted to give up the two points for the seal (see question 1), everyone agreed that the animal would be unclaimed.

Günter Cornett:
You don't give up points if you change an animal for an item of equipment (Otherwise it wouldn't be clever to use equipment): *The players get points for each animal they hunted (= for all animal stones at the left and right side of the player-sheet)*
The game ends, if nobody wants to move (or is unable to move). So it's better to stay in the igloo (2 points) than to hunt a fish (1 point), if you cannot go back after hunting.

I thought that I explained my rule correct since the last changing of the english rules (7.Jan.1999). But it seems, that more english speaking gamers read the rules as you. Maybe you've some english words for me how to explain this in the right way? It would be a great help for me.

***

Out of topic: Some words about Arabana-Ikibiti

Ken Hill:
We have always played the German version of the A-I rules and it has been a favorite of ours for quite a while. We don't like the American rules since they tend to reward luck instead of skill.

Günter Cornett:
That's my opinion too. I like the original rules more, but many gamers like luck in game. So it's ok that KOSMOS made the american (mainstream) rule as a main rule and my rule as a variant (at Kahuna issue).

Ken Hill:
Yes, you can get some one-sided games with the German (i.e. original) rules and the inexperienced player usually loses.

Günter Cornett:
That's right, too.

Ken Hill:
Regarding Nanuuk, I want to make sure I understand what you have said:

1. If you have a whale, it means you can _always_ get any piece of equipment you need as long as you go to an igloo?

Günter Cornett:
If you have a whale you get all items of equipment in the igloo.

Ken Hill:
2. Can you get a dog and a sled on the same trip to the igloo assuming you have a whale?

Günter Cornett:
In the igloo you leave the whale (and inuk) and take dog AND sledge AND kayak

Ken Hill:
The verb "exchange" is what is confusing to me. "Exchange" to me means "give up one thing to get another" hence my confusion.

Günter Cornett:
ah, that's the trap. I mean exchange between your *pocket* and your *kitchen* (animal from the left to the right side - equipment from the right to the left side of the player sheet). But it's all your own. Only the place where you leave your animals/equipment changes.

***

Ken Hill:
Just to make sure of one last point:

Once I have hunted a whale, I can always get a dog and a sledge and a kayak every time I enter an igloo. Correct?

Günter Cornett:
it's a nice optional rule, really. But my thoughts were:

if you enter an igloo, f.e. with a seal and a whale, you may choose
1. you leave all animals (and the inuk) in the igloo and get one dog, one sledge and one kayak (you never can get two items of the same equipment). If you leave the igloo and come back without new animals, you get no kayak, no dog, no sledge.

So maybe it's better to choose
2. you leave the whale (and the inuk) in the igloo and get one dog, one sledge and one kayak. By leaving the igloo the seal stays in your *pocket*. You hunt a fish and a walrus by using doublemove and kayak, go back to the igloo, leave fish, seal and walrus and get one dog, one sledge and one kayak

If you'll hunt a second seal, you may choose
3. you leave the seal in the igloo get one kayak. By leaving the igloo the whale stays in your *pocket*. The inuk follows you. Normally you don't hunt two whales, so this option will be better than option 2. (but not, if you need a double move or you'll pick up another inuk, that nobody else can hunt a whale).

So it depends of the situation which option you choose.

another possible but rarely played option:
(4. you leave the igloo with all animals you hunted, because you've already all items of equipment. In this case you'll surely win the game, whatever you do)

Ken Hill:
Two other minor questions:

1. In a 2 or 3 player game where the whole board is not in play, can you play cracks on those squares not in play or are they considered not part of the board any more?

Günter Cornett:
Right, squares you don't need are water. So you cannot play cracks there.

Ken Hill:
2. This one may be obvious but can you move on to a field with an animal without hunting it i.e. fish-field but I already have a fish in my "pocket?" We assume no but it is good to ask.

Günter Cornett:
You always may enter a field without hunting. Maybe you've already a fish or you want to pick up another fish at your next turn (it's possible that one fish could be reached by several players and the other could only reached by you).

Ken Hill:
Feel free to use my question in FAQ if you want.

Günter Cornett:
Thanks, it's much work now, but a great help. Next time I'll try to discuss the rules with you before publishing :-).

Ken Hill:
We played a couple of games with two players today and it was quite enjoyable. Both games were very close.

Günter Cornett:
Thanks and: the rules I made must not be the only way to play. If you like an optional rule more than the original rules tell me.

***

Ken Hill:
Hmmm, well, your explanation helped make it a bit more clear. I'm still not clear on one point. Let's take this situation:

I come to the igloo with a whale and a seal. I put both in the igloo and "convert" the whale into the dog, sled and kayak. I leave the igloo, use all the equipment and come back to the igloo with a walrus and a fish.

Now, I didn't "convert" the seal into a kayak earlier. May I now do so?

Günter Cornett:
no

Ken Hill:
Or, is it that you only have one chance to "convert" the seal into a kayak and that is it at the time you move it from your pocket to your igloo?

Günter Cornett:
yes, that's right.

Ken Hill:
I suspect that you mean the last case but I want to make sure.

One other question: In your example, you mention picking up another inuk. Is this legal? We assumed that you could only have one of each animal and only one inuk with you (in your pocket) at one time.

Günter Cornett:
For picking up a second inuk you've to leave the first inuk in the igloo. You leave the inuk in the igloo at the time you convert a whale (no other possibility).

The inuk always follows the whale he has hunted.
If you leave the whale in the igloo you *convert* whale AND inuk into equipment. But it's not right to say you convert an inuk, so I say you convert the whale and the inuk follows the whale. If you've left the inuk in the igloo (at the right side of the playersheet, together with the whale) you've a chance to pickup another one at the left side of the playersheet.

***

Ken Hill:
Great! I think I finally understand the "conversion" of animals to equipment.

Ken Hill:
We played the correct way today and it worked pretty well. It certainly makes the decisions a bit more difficult.

The only other thing that still bothers me a little is the end-game but I think I can live with that.

Günter Cornett:
Yes, some turns before *official end* you may agree who get which animals and finish the game.

Ken Hill:
I might try updating your English rules myself to make them easier to understand (with your permission, of course.)

Günter Cornett:
oh yes, it would be a great help for me.

Ken Hill:
Thanks for all your help,

Günter Cornett:
Thanks, too



Ken Hill: KEN_HILL@COMPUSERVE.COM
Günter Cornett: cornett@bambusspiele.de

 top of page 


- back to faq (main) -

random piece setup: question from Clay Blankenship and answer
double move: question from Rob van Wijngaarden and answer
ice crack - double move - end of game: three questions from Josh Bluestein and answer
Every igloo is everyone's home. oops, there were some questions left after Ken Hills interview

rules Nanuuk! Nanuuk!-reviews
Nanuuk! Forum
deutscher Text zu Nanuuk!
text: the inuit - hunter of the arctic
arctic links



Bambus-Logo: zur Startseite    Home    Sitemap    Kontakt    AGB
Bambus Spieleverlag Günter Cornett | Kopfstraße 43 | 12053 Berlin
Telefon/Fax: 030 - 612 1884 info@bambusspiele.de